Ory Shihor

Ory Shihor was a major force in creating the Music Academy, recognizing the need to support highly-talented, pre-college age students who seek to continue their music studies at a conservatory level. Mr. Shihor produces the annual Colburn Piano Festival, which attracts applicants from around the world to its two-week summer immersion program, and is also a faculty member in the Colburn Conservatory’s piano department.

Mr. Shihor is a winner of the Young Concert Artists International Auditions, a prize winner at the 9th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition and was the first prize winner at the Washington International Piano Competition.

Mr. Shihor’s performances include recitals at the Kennedy Center and at the Phillips Collection in Washington D.C., as well as at the Chautauqua Music Festival. In addition, he has performed at the 92nd Street Y, in recitals for the Frick Collection and other venues in New York City. Mr. Shihor’s past appearances have included the Ravinia “Rising Star” Series, and the Newport Music Festival, in addition to recitals across North America. In eight critically-acclaimed concerts, Shihor performed the entire 32 Beethoven sonata cycle in Los Angeles.

Among his extended engagements with orchestras, Mr. Shihor appeared as the featured guest soloist with the Liege Royal Philharmonic of Belgium on their 15-concert North American tour, under Music Director Pierre Bartholomee. His international concerts have included appearances in Germany, Spain, Israel, and the Edinburgh Festival in Scotland.

Born in Tel Aviv, Israel, Mr. Shihor was a recipient of the America-Israel Cultural Foundation scholarships from the age of 12. At 15, he came to the United States to study with Jorge Bolet at the Curtis Institute of Music, and later graduated from the Juilliard School in New York, where he was a recipient of the prestigious Gina Bachauer Prize. He earned his Master of Music degree from the University of Southern California’s Thornton School of Music. His other teachers have included Emanuel Krasovsky, John Perry and Russell Sherman.